From now on, only one flag will fly over Six Flags amusement parks

by: Amanda O’Donnell, Austin American-Statesman

ARLINGTON, Texas – In the wake of Charlottesville violence, Six Flags Over Georgia will only fly U.S flags, removing flags from European countries as well as a flag from the civil war era.

Meanwhile, Six Flags Over Texas removed its Confederate States of America flag on display over the park entrance. 

Six Flags in Georgia has not flown a battle flag for several years, but has flown a flag from the civil war era along with flags from France, Spain, Mexico, and the Georgia state flag.

In a statement released Friday, a park representative released a statement explaining their decision:

“At Six Flags we strive every single day to make people happy and to create a fun, thrilling and safe family friendly experience for our guests. We always choose to focus on celebrating the things that unite us versus those that divide us. As such, we have changed the flag displays in our park to feature American flags.” 

The American flags flying at Six Flags amusement parks will be the national flag with 13 stripes and 50 stars.

It’s unclear which historic flag from the Civil War era was removed from Six Flags Over Georgia.

Several years ago, the Confederate section of Six Flags Over Georgia was renamed to Peachtree Square.

The park’s decision to change its flags comes just days after a “Unite the Right” neo-Nazi rally in Charlottesville turned deadly when a car rammed into a crowd of counter-protesters, killing one woman and injuring several others.

READ ---  European Central Bank Calls for DLT Post-Trade Interoperability

Six Flags originated in Texas when the park opened there in 1961. Six-themed sections, modeled after the six countries that had sovereignty over some or all Texas – Spain, France, Mexico, Republic of Texas, Confederate States of America and the United States.